Cœur des Ténèbres
Cœur des Ténèbres Specific Rules
Starting Legend in a Scene
Realistically the STs can’t be there every second of your Scion’s existence. With that stated, however, weird stuff just doesn’t happen when the STs are around. The World is filled with strangeness. There are things everywhere that will test your Scion. There are Titanspawn out there that you will argue with. There will be some knacks you want to use. Within a scene with a ST, the majority of players will run through much of their Legend, between Knacks and other sources of spending. You’re a Scion even when the STs aren’t around and chances are, whether it be from clashing with Titanspawn or just doing investigations in your threads, you are spending Legend.
To this end the STs have made a system that states how much Legend you start a scene with. The following things are true about this system:
- Your base pool starts at half your maximum Legend (round up).
- You get +1 for each dot of your Mortal Followers you have (until you reach Demigod, at which point your Immortal followers count)
- You get +3 for each Knack or Boon you have that restores Legend in some way.
- The Loa have Endurance as a Favored Virtue instead of Order.
Banned or Altered Birthrights
- ’’’Reducing the Speed of a Weapon’’’ Will cost 2 Birthright points instead of 1.
- ’’’Reducing Multi-action Penalty’’’ Will cost 2 Birthright points instead of 1.
- ’’’Relics Being Physically a Part of You (Or Not)‘’’ Will cost a Birthright point. (Tattoos, prosthetics, missing limbs, etc)
- ’’’Adding to Attributes’’’ Does not add to derived values of the Attribute. Adding to Stamina does not add to Soak, and adding to Dexterity does not add to DV.
- ’’’Adding to Various Things’’’ Relics that add to Skills and to Attributes do not stack. So if you have a relic that adds to Brawl, and a relic that adds to Strength, you would only get them once.
- ’’’Creatures’’’ Staff will work with you to stat up your creatures.
- ’’’Golden Servant of Hephaestus’’’ Will be down-statted to appropriate levels for its cost.
Clarifications or Alterations on Knacks
- ’’’Compelling Presence’’’ Once combat begins, anyone may spend the Willpower to snap out of Compelling Presence, not just those of higher Legend.
- ’’’And the Crowd Goes Wild’’’ If penalties to your roll would make it such that you have no dice due to the bonus of “And the Crowd Goes Wild”, but you would normally have dice remaining if not for the knack, you can roll what is essentially a chance die. On a 1, you critically fail the roll. On anything else, you may add your auto-successes as normally. Please note, you cannot gain a success on this roll, it is just to test for Critical Failure.
- ’’’Fight with your Head’’’ You may split up your penalties as you wish, but you are not given the number of Epic stats that they have, so it is possible to overspend.
- ’’’Paragon of Virtue’’’ Paragon of Virtue may grant as many levels of the Virtue as the user has, not just one. This bonus is capped at 3 for Heroes. Please note, Paragon of Virtue still only effects Mortals unless you have a Knack that says otherwise.
Clarifications or Alterations on Purviews
- ’’’Mystery’’’ Some very specific mystery questions may not be given answers. This will be very limited, there is an IC reason for it, and it can be pursued IC. If your question is blocked, the question will not be spent.
General (non venue-specific) Rules
- The weapons dealing with Marksmanship will either add Strength to damage as is the case with muscle-powered weapons such as bows, or Perception in the case of more automatic weaponry like handguns. Epics will apply to these rolls.
- You do not add in Auto-Successes on a roll wherein you roll no successes and at least one one. This roll is a botch.
- On your turn you may activate a single Knack as a free action. Activating a second knack will take a Speed 5 Miscellaneous action. You may not activate a knack for free more than once every 3 ticks (so, for example, with a Guard or an Aim).
- If a Knack may be activated reflexively (Self-Healing, Never Say Die, Damage Conversion), you may activate as many knacks as you wish/can pay for/qualify for. To activate Never Say Die reflexively, you must actually take damage from the hit.
- If something “Requires: Arete (Craft)” to craft, anyone with divine blood and a Crafts of 5 can also do the same work. If you have a different Craft at 5, and you can justify how you’re incorporating your craft into the working, you may still attempt the working, although there will be an increased difficulty and you must have at least a Craft of 1 in the main Craft the work requires.
- You may make a Legendary Deed once/scene! This is instead of once/story!
- While in a grapple, the person grappled and the person grappling both have a DV of 0.
- While in a grapple, the person being grappled is moved to the grappler’s tick. Once the roll off to determine the grapple is made, if the person grappled is still grappled, they may still act, however their action must be one that requires no physical action.
- On Lengths and Timing:
- One Scene is 4 hours.
- One Session/Chapter is 2 weeks.
- One Story is 1 month.
- One Chronicle is 4 months.
- On battle/scene posting:
- Whenever your turn in the tick order pops up in battle, you have 3 minutes. If you don’t post in that three minutes and haven’t contacted the ST to note why you’re not posting, your turn will be skipped.
- When an ST is running a scene and calls for a roll and you do not roll within 3 minutes and post your sux and haven’t contacted the ST, the ST will move on without you.